Calamari Salad with Cecis and Chilies

31 May

Erica De Mane

tumblr_mlc3l1mEMn1qbhp9xo1_1280Still Life with Cat Stealing Squid from a Plate, Giuseppe Recco, seventeenth century.

Italian seafood salads are among my favorite dishes. I always hoped one would show up on my family’s patio table during a summer barbecue, and often it did, the first thing there. As a kid I was especially crazy about the versions that included scungilli, with its odd musky undertones and chewy texture. I realize many people don’t like scungilli, and you don’t see it around much anymore, even in old-school red sauce joints. Phil Karlin, my fish man at Union Square, carries it, caught right off the North Fork. I’m not sure who aside from me buys it. I also like cold mussel salads with lots of celery and fennel. I’m crazy for hot seared shrimp piled onto a bed of cool greens. And I like calamari salad anyway I can get it.

Classic Italian seafood…

View original post 464 more words

One Response to “Calamari Salad with Cecis and Chilies”

  1. Erica May 31, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

    Thank you City Girl Country.

Leave a Reply

